CONGRATS To Our Hanford Team! September 2016

WAI’s Hanford Laboratory received the highest award in the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Voluntary Protection Program (VPP) on Aug. 28, the VPP Legacy of Stars, at the 32nd annual National VPPPA Conference in Kissimmee, Fla. This distinction is awarded to those sites with injury/illness rates significantly below industry standards (75 percent below general industry). Other qualifications include mentoring both DOE and Occupational Safety and Health Administration VPP sites, and developing and demonstrating safety and health innovations.

DOE recognizes a contractor for excellence in safety and health systems that go beyond requirements and who demonstrate effective management commitment and employee involvement, while applying the Integrated Safety Management System. (ISMS). The DOE Legacy of Stars is awarded to a site that has previously received three consecutive VPP Star of Excellence awards.

The WAI Hanford Lab employees, while working in a Haz Cat III nuclear facility, continue to demonstrate an “outstanding level of performance” in safety, health and radiological work practices, according to DOE. Qualifying for a fourth consecutive Star of Excellence award, and thus receiving the Legacy of Stars award, is quite an accomplishment and a testament to the excellent safety culture established by WAI employees.


Gary Snyder 2016 scholarships awarded

Five local high school seniors recently received college scholarships from the Gary W. Snyder Memorial Scholarship Fund, sponsored by WAI.

The scholarships were presented at the school’s end-of-the-year awards ceremonies.

Snyder was a scientist on the WAI team who passed away in 2012. His career in environmental sciences included time as a professor at Shawnee State University (SSU). His love of nature and the environment impacted his coworkers and inspired the idea for WAI’s scholarship. The scholarship set up in Snyder’s honor is awarded to five high school seniors each year. They must attend school in Pike, Scioto, Jackson or Ross counties and plan to pursue higher education at SSU. The $250 scholarship can be renewed each year of study through the senior year of college.

The 2016 recipients are:

  • Lena Harvey, a graduate of Portsmouth High School, who plans to study radiologic technology
  • Mackenzie Rowe, a graduate of Valley High School who plans to major in pre-medicine
  • Kiana Schackhart, a graduate of Valley High School who will be studying radiologic technology
  • Anna Staker, a graduate of Eastern High School who plans to get a degree in medical laboratory technology
  • Jessica Stockham, a graduate of Eastern High School who plans to major in biomedical sciences, and then attend medical school.

A key component in funding the scholarship program is the Gary Snyder Memorial Golf Tournament, held each year at Big Beaver Creek Golf Course in Piketon. This year’s tournament takes place Saturday, Sept. 10. The tournament, which includes food and prizes for participants, is sponsored by local businesses, and all proceeds benefit the scholarship program.